Home News Diving Watches

The Spy Who Loved Watches (Ep.2): The Era of Omega & the Seamaster 300M

Anna Wu-Chauvineau
Le 17 September 2017
R

Remember a few weeks ago, I praised James and his Rolex Submariner 5513 with great passion. She appeared on the wrist of the English spy played by George Lazenby from 1968 in the film On Her Majesty’s Secret Service. Let’s close the “Rolex parenthesis,” even if there is still much to say, and focus now on the Omega era.

Let’s start with a logical choice, the Seamaster 300M that appears in GoldenEye in 1995 on the wrist of Pierce Brosnan. A piece that will stay a good while at his service. Between the USSR, satellites of mass destruction, outrageously charming women, an Aston DB5 and a Ferrari F355, the Seamaster has been extremely busy.

My name is Brosnan, Pierce Brosnan

Timothy Dalton had preceded him in 1989 by playing the role of the vengeful spy in License to Kill. Pierce takes over in 1995 in GoldenEye.

Should I refresh your memory and put you back in the mood? Remember at the end of the 1980s in the USSR, Bond has to join 006, who was later shot down by a Russian colonel in a chemical weapons factory. Does any of this ring a bell? And the race between Xenia Onatopp’s red F355 Ferrari and James’ Aston in the mountainous roads above Monaco? One cannot remain indifferent to the delightful charms of this young woman, who has a somewhat “thrilling” vision of passion.

James Bond's Watches - Pierce Brosnan

Bond sports an Omega for the first time on the screen. A Seamaster 300M with a quartz movement, that’s also worn by his “false” spy friend 006. The piece is shown with nifty powers in the film. It can project a thin laser beam and skillfully cut thick metal, or trigger explosives to kill Soviet Communist villains wanting to destroy the world.

One can also spot it in Tomorrow Never Dies released in 1997. It’s almost like the automatic model that equips 007 today. Remember, the story takes place in China, and Bond must investigate the torpedo launched by the Devonshire Chinese army, frigate of the Royal Navy. Everything is actually orchestrated by the press magnate Elliot Carver. A tall, thin man, almost bald, with fine, piercing eyes hiding behind fine-framed glasses. Much like the villain and cat duo in the movies.

The piece is still alongside Pierce in The World is not Enough with a very sensual, but rather dominating, Sophie Marceau. He must take care of Elektra King at the borders of Azerbaijan after the assassination of his father and face Renard. The character, played by Robert Carlyle, lives with a bullet in his head that’s progressing each day. There is a more serious issue at hand. It’s the same automatic model being worn, this time equipped with a torch and a miniature grapple by Q. What? You don’t think it’s possible?

Omega Seamaster 300M

This model will appear one last time in Die Another Day in 2002. With one of my favorite sentences Q says to Bond while he takes a Seamaster out of his suit pocket.

Q: Now a new watch. This would be your twentieth I believe.
James: How time flies.
Q: Why do not you make a record by actually returning this one?

A fairly solid dialogue.

Unfortunately, after Casino Royale‘s rights were purchased by MGM and the franchise of the Broccoli family (Albert Broccoli only made the first 16 Bond films), a clean slate was demanded…and a clean slate it was.

James Bond's Watches - Daniel Craig

Goodbye Pierce. Welcome Daniel Craig. Even if with these significant changes, the beginning of the filming of Casino Royale was difficult, Craig was more than accepted in the end, and the film a true success. Two watches then are seen on Bond’s wrist. A Planet Ocean, and again, as usual, a Seamaster. And then there was the wonderful exchange of words on the train between James and Vesper:

Vesper: You know, former SAS types, with easy smile and expensive watches. Rolex?
James: Omega.
Vesper: Beautiful.

Enough said.

The Omega Seamaster Saga

Which pieces are we talking about exactly? The first reference with the blue waves dial introduced to the Omega collection in 1993, and the debut of a Seamaster Professional 300M equipped with a screw-in helium decompression valve at 10 o’clock.

Omega Seamaster 300M

Among these watches a certain reference 2541.80, quartz, stands out. Used by GoldenEye directors in 1995. A true dive watch, officially stamped as resistant to 300 meters of depth with a decompression valve, unidirectional rotating bezel and steel bracelet.

The main difference came in 1997 with the filming of Tomorrow Never Dies and the introduction of an automatic Seamaster 300M to James’s fine wrist. This new piece is similar to its quartz sister, with the same opening at 41mm, released in 1993 and equipped with the automatic caliber 1120, COSC certified. It is living proof of a mechanical movement comeback after the terrible quartz crisis. It would also be used in The World Is Not Enough in 1999 and in Die Another Day in 2002.

It is only at the release of Casino Royale in 2006 that the Seamaster is somewhat revamped. Circled markers, the word ‘Seamaster’ in red and below the Omega logo. Most importantly, the movement is now stamped and patented ‘Co-Axial.’

An Omega watch that has experienced multiple variations, possesses that extra soul others do not have, for having dressed James’s wrist in complex situations, to chase great villains, in exquisite cars, and in the bed of sultry magnificent women.

Home Actualité Horlogerie

Les montres de James Bond (Ep 2) : L’ère Omega et la Seamaster 300m

Nicolas
Le 29 juin 2017
S

Souvenez-vous il a quelques semaines, je faisais l’éloge, avec amour et passion pour James, de la Rolex Submariner 5513. Elle était alors apparue au poignet de l’espion anglais interprété par George Lazenby à partir de 1968 dans On Her Majesty’s Secret Service. Faisons une parenthèse Rolex, même si il reste encore beaucoup à dire, et concentrons-nous maintenant sur l’ère Oméga.

En commençant logiquement par la Seamaster 300m qui apparaît dans GoldenEye en 1995 au poignet de Pierce Brosnan. Et qui restera un bon moment à son service. Entre URSS, satellites de destruction massive, femmes plus que charmantes, Aston DB5 et Ferrari F355, la Seamaster n’a pas connu le repos.

My name is Brosnan, Pierce Brosnan.

Timothy Dalton l’avait précédé en 1989 en interprétant le rôle de l’espion vengeur dans License to Kill. Pierce prend le relai et  apparaît en 1995 dans GoldenEye.

Dois-je vous replonger dans l’ambiance ? Si je vous dis fin des années 1980 en URSS, Bond qui doit rejoindre 006, ce dernier se faisant abattre par un colonel Russe, dans une usine d’armes chimiques, cela fait vibrer une corde dans votre mémoire ? Et cette course entre la Ferrari F355 rouge de Xenia Onatopp et l’Aston de James dans les routes montagneuses au-dessus de Monaco ? Vous n’avez pas pu être indifférents aux charmes délicieux de cette jeune femme, qui a une conception quelque peu “mouvementée” de la passion amoureuse.

Les montres de James Bond - Pierce Brosnan

Quoi qu’il en soit de cette jeune femme, Bond arbore une Omega pour la première fois à l’écran. Une Seamaster 300M à mouvement quartz. Qui équipe aussi son “faux” ami l’espion 006. Le film lui confie des propriétés sympathiques. Elle peut projeter un fin rayon laser et découper habilement des métaux assez épais, ou encore déclencher des charges explosives pour tuer des méchants communistes soviétiques voulant détruire le monde.

On la retrouve dans Tomorrow never dies en 1997. Au détail près que c’est maintenant le modèle automatique qui équipe 007. Souvenez-vous, l’intrigue se déroule en Chine, et Bond doit enquêter sur le torpillage par l’armée chinoise du Devonshire, frégate de la Royal Navy. Tout est en réalité fruit de la machinerie du magnat de la presse Elliot Carver. Un homme grand et fin,  presque chauve, aux yeux fins et perçants se cachant derrière des lunettes aux montures très fines. Un peu le méchant avec un chat dans les films.

Elle accompagne encore et toujours Pierce dans The World is not Enough avec une Sophie Marceau très sensuelle, mais un peu trop dominatrice. Il doit s’occuper d’Elektra King aux limites de l’Azerbaïdjan, après l’assassinat de son père, et faire face à Renard, interprété par Robert Carlyle. Qui vit avec une balle dans la tête progressant de jour en jour. Il y a plus grave. Il s’agit toujours du même modèle automatique, qui est équipée par Q d’une torche et d’un grappin miniature. Réalisable, ma foi.

Les montres de James Bond - Omega Seamaster 300M

Ce modèle apparaîtra une dernière fois dans Die Another Day en 2002. Accompagné de ma phrase préférée prononcée par Q à l’attention de Bond alors qu’il sort une Seamaster de la poche de son costume.

Q : ‘Now a new watch, this would be your twentieth I believe’
James : ‘How time flies’
Q : ‘Why don’t you establish a record by actually returning this one?’

Une répartie plutôt solide.

Malheureusement, après que les droits de Casino Royale ont été rachetés par MGM et la franchise de la famille Broccoli (Albert Broccoli a juste réalisé les 16 premiers Bond), on veut que place nette soit faite, et qu’un élan de nouveauté et de fraîcheur pénètre l’univers de l’espion.

Les montres de James Bond - Daniel Craig

Adieu Pierce. Welcome Daniel Craig. Même si avec ces changements, les débuts du tournage de Casino Royale sont difficiles, Craig est plus qu’accepté et le film un succès. Deux montres équipent alors le poignet de Bond. Une Planet Océan, et encore et toujours une nouvelle Seamaster. On retient surtout ce merveilleux échange dans le train entre James et Vesper :

Vesper : ‘You know, former SAS types, with easy smile and expensive watches. Rolex?’
James : ‘Omega’
Vesper : ‘Beautiful’

Tout est dit.

La saga Omega Seamaster

De quelles pièces exactement s’agit-il ? La première référence, avec l’aspect bleu & vagues que nous connaissons apparaît dans les rangs des collection Omega en 1993, avec l’apparition des Seamaster Professional 300M équipées d’une soupape vissée de décompression à hélium à dix heures.

Les montres de James Bond - Omega Seamaster 300M

Parmi ces montres ressort une certaine référence 2541.80, à quartz. Utilisée par les réalisateurs de GoldenEye en 1995. Une vraie plongeuse, puisque estampillé comme résistant à une pression de 300 mètres de profondeur (petit guide de l’étanchéité, au passage) et possédant soupape de décompression, lunette tournante unidirectionnelle et bracelet en acier.

La principale différence arrive en 1997 avec le tournage de Tomorrow Never Dies et l’introduction au poignet de James d’une Seamaster 300M automatique . Cette nouveauté est semblable à sa soeur à quartz, avec les mêmes proportions de 41mm, sortie en 1993 et équipée du calibre automatique 1120, certifié COSC. Elle est la preuve du retour des mouvements mécaniques après cette terrible crise du quartz. Elle sera également utilisée dans The World Is Not Enough en 1999 et dans Die Another Day en 2002.

Ce n’est que pour Casino Royale en 2006 que la Seamaster se modernise quelque peu. Index cerclés, la mention ‘Seamaster’ maintenant rouge et en dessous du logo Omega. Et surtout, le mouvement est maintenant estampillé et breveté ‘Co-Axial’.

Une montre Omega qui a connu de multiples déclinaisons, et qui possède ce supplément d’âme que d’autres n’ont pas, pour avoir eu le mérité d’équiper le poignet de James dans des situations complexes, à chasser des grands méchants, dans des voitures sympathiques, et dans le lit de femmes piquantes et délicieuses.