Home News Diving Watches

The Spy who Loved Watches (Ep.1): Rolex Submariner 5513

Anna Wu-Chauvineau
Le 25 August 2017
T

There’s no denying it. For most of us, James Bond is someone that has influenced our childhood, by his watches and by his conquests. I’m sure you know that Rolex had an important role in the life of the spy, even if other emblematic brands have also been seen on the wrist of the English gentleman and his ennemies. Seiko, Breitling and Omega to mention just a few. For the big boys (that we all are) who’ve grown up following the adventures of James with stars in our eyes, we’ll be going through them one by one, looking at the iconic models seen on the big screen that have, as a matter of fact, inspired numerous other collections. Sound good?

George Lazenby donned a Rolex “Pre-Daytona” 6238 in the famous ski chases not far from Gstaad. We are hence beginning our review, quite logically, with a certain Submariner 5513, which equally shared some wrist time on the Australian actor who once played the role of Agent Bond…and only once.

The Rolex of George Lazenby

Georges Lazenby James Bond

Simply the Rolex that was the most worn by James along with its sister, the 6538, from its first apparition on George Lazenby’s wrist in On Her Majesty’s Secret Service to that of Roger Moore’s in The Man with a Golden Gun.

Don’t forget that in 1968 we saw for the very first time an unknown George Lazenby in a Fry’s Turkish Delights commercial (where he serves the goodies in a suit and tie in Turkey). Yes, you heard correctly, a commercial for Turkish delights. So what right? Everyone could already see that the gentleman had style. A 188cm tall handsome thing with a charming Australian accent, built like a lumberjack…or a medal-winning athlete. Unnerving isn’t it?

When he arrived on the set that famous day in 1968 to audition, the crowd was blown away by his presence. He wore the same suit that Sean Connery had on in the previous Bond movies, and auditioned by telling time on his Submariner 5513 (his personal watch that we can also see in the movie). Any questions? Sean was like a mentor to the young George, who actually didn’t think to be up to par for the role of the Secret Agent at first. Imagine those nights he spent practising Sean’s hand gestures and overall behaviour in Goldfinger or in Dr. No. This is what we call a lesson in strong-willed determination.

Peter Hunt was immediately won over by the tall drink of water, and Lazenby became Bond in On Her Majesty’s Secret Service that was shown from December 1969. Remember the scene where James needs some precious documents from the safe of Gumbold, Blofeld’s lawyer? He sneaks into the lawyer’s study, uses a highly sophisticated tool to test out the possible combinations of the safe, browses through Playboy magazine at the same time, and all the while checking the time on his 5513 that he placed on the tool. He makes it look so easy…

The Rolex of the other Bonds

Rolex Submariner 5513

The Submariner has become the British agent’s accessory par excellence. It all began with Dr. No in 1962, where we saw the Submariner 6538, and also From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, and Thunderball. We’ll come back to this because the Submariner 6538 and Sean Connery deserve more than just a couple of lines.

The 5513 would then be seen on George Lazenby’s wrist once (his first and last James Bond), then on the wrist of Roger Moore in Live and Let Die and The Man with the Golden Gun. Then all of a sudden, it’s the end of the line. With the arrival of the Quartz movement, Submariners and pieces of the like became scarce. Although, we do have Roger Moore with his personal Rolex Datejust in A View to a Kill, and then Timothy Dalton’s personal Rolex 16610 in The Living Daylights.

The Rolex Submariner 5513

Vintage Rolex Submariner - 5513

I will have, hopefully, an opportunity in the near future to talk about the history of the Submariner at length, but today, a brief glimpse will have to suffice.

The 5513 was brought to the light of day in 1962 as an evolved version of the 5512 and the 6538. Two lines at 6 o’clock, plus the mention of “Superlative Chronometer, Officially Certified” (no, the 5513 isn’t certified, sadness). The shoulders on the 5512 have remained intact onto the 5513.

With Rolexes, hence with the 5513 as well, God is in the details more than ever. Meters first or feet first? Glossy or matt dial? Serif or Sans Serif fonts? I will try to be simple and concise, “try” being the operative word here.

Glossy or Matt Dial?

Production started in 1962 with smooth lacquered dials, a.k.a. “Glossy”. Matt Dials would come a few years later in 1966. So what is “Glossy” you say? First of all, it’s a lacquered coating. Imagine that your girlfriend took her black nail polish and brushed a layer of it onto your watch dial. And BAM…no more girlfriend. To decorate the lacquered dial, the writing can be gilded. This type of dial, naturally, is named “Gilt.”

Matt dials reigned during the course of 1966, then in 1984 Glossy dials made a come-back, but this time with circled markers for a modern touch.

Meters first or feet first?

The first models of the 5513, released in 1962, were “meters first.” A name for a type of dial on which the limit of depth is written “200m = 660ft” and not the other way around.

Glossy dials have this meters first particularity until 1969. During 1970 however – changing times, changing ways – feet first takes the lead and stays there. Bye bye meters first…

Serif or Sans Serif?

Serif, as its name indicates, refers to the font of the lines of text on the dial. “Serif” means that a little decorative stroke will extends from the ends of the letters. The first Sans Serif writings were seen around 1969. To put things simply, everything started with Sans Serif. Then around 1970/1971, Serif coexisted with Sans Serif, and for a while until 1975/1976, when Serif dials became the preferred route.

Regardless the layout of the dial, the 5513 is the quintessence of the British agent’s watch in the 1960’s and 1970’s. Who would’ve imagined that such a dive watch would so perfectly land on the wrist of an agent in a dinner suit? Not many I’d say, that is, before Sean Connery in 1964 in Goldfinger. This is the only watch that could handle, with conviction and grace, being on a wrist that kills, strangles, punches, drives an Aston Martin, and embraces the most beautiful women. A normal James Bond day…

(To be continued…)

Home Montres Vintage Focus

Les montres de James Bond (Ep 01) : La Rolex Submariner 5513

Nicolas
Le 1 mars 2017
U

Un grand nombre d’entre nous ne peut nier qu’il a été influencé par James Bond dans sa jeunesse. Et par ses montres. Sans oublier ses conquêtes féminines. Vous ne le savez que trop bien, Rolex a eu un rôle important aux côtés de l’espion anglais, même si d’autres belles marques ont vu le poignet du gentleman et de ses rivaux. Seiko, Breitling et Omega pour ne citer qu’elles.  Pour les grands enfants (que nous sommes) qui ont grandi les yeux plein d’admiration en regardant les aventures de James, nous allons revenir en détails, one by one, sur tous ces modèles iconiques vus sur grand écran et à l’origine de nombreuses collections… Ça vous tente ?

Jérôme vous parlait récemment de la Rolex “Pré-Daytona” 6238, arborée par Georges Lazenby dans de célèbres poursuites à ski non loin de Gstaad. Nous allons donc débuter cette série, très logiquement, par une certaine Submariner 5513, qui a côtoyé de très près ce même chronographe légendaire à l’aiguille rouge au poignet du même acteur australien qui n’incarnera malheureusement l’agent Bond qu’à une seule reprise…

La Rolex de Georges Lazenby

Georges Lazenby James Bond

Tout simplement la Rolex la plus portée au poignet de James avec sa soeur 6538. De sa première apparition au poignet de Georges Lazenby dans On Her Majesty’s Secret Service jusqu’aux avant bras de Roger Moore dans The Man with the Golden GunUne belle carrière qui recèle quelques précieux secrets.

Il faut s’imaginer au cours de l’année 1968. Un homme alors connu pour avoir joué un rôle dans la publicité du chocolat “Fry’s”, apportant du chocolat en costume cravate en Turquie, se fait largement remarquer. Oui, une publicité pour du chocolat. Et alors ? On remarque déjà la prestance de l’homme. Il s’appelle Georges Lazenby. Un joli bébé d’un mètre quatre vingt huit à l’accent australien, charpenté comme un bucheron, ainsi qu’ancien athlète. Potentiel énervé donc.

Il arrive donc sur le plateau du casting, en 1968, avec une dégaine de folie. Il porte le même costume que Sean Connery dans les précédents films, et lit l’heure sur sa Submariner 5513 (montre personnelle que l’on retrouve dans le film). Des questions ? Sean, c’est un peu le mentor du jeune Georges, qui se retrouve presque dans la peau d’un agent secret, et qui pense ne pas avoir la carrure. Imaginez vous les nuits qu’il a dû passer, à reproduire les moindre gestes de Sean dans Goldfinger ou dans Dr No. C’est ce que l’on appelle une leçon de détermination, pas celle pour passer son brevet des collèges. 

Peter Hunt est séduit, et Lazenby devient Bond le temps du film On Her Majesty’s Secret Service qui se projette à partir de décembre 1969. Souvenez-vous : James a besoin de précieux documents du coffre fort de l’avocat de Blofeld, Gumbold. Il pénètre dans son bureau, intercepte par la fenêtre un outil pour tester toutes les combinaisons du coffre, et feuillette pendant ce temps le magazine Playboy, tout en surveillant sa 5513 qu’il a posé sur cet outil. Dans le plus grand des calmes.

La Rolex d’autres Bond

Rolex Submariner 5513

La Submariner se fait depuis quelques années le vêtement dont l’agent britannique ne se sépare jamais. Tout avait commencé dans Dr No en 1962, où l’on voyait la Submariner 6538, et ce aussi dans From Russia with Love, Goldfinger et Thunderball. Mais j’y reviendrai, car on ne passe pas sur la Submariner 6538 et surtout sur Sean Connery en deux lignes. Never ever.

La 5513 sera donc visible une fois au poignet de Georges Lazenby (son premier et dernier James Bond, il repartira avec sa Rolex 5513), puis au poignet de Roger Moore dans Live and let Die et The Man with the Golden Gun. Puis, soudain, c’est la fin. Ô rage, Ô désespoir, Ô Quartz ennemi. Dernier apparition de la Submariner. Et par la suite, les Rolex se font rares (Suspens…A View to a Kill avec Roger Moore et sa Datejust personnelle, puis Timothy Dalton et sa 16610 dans The living Daylights).

La Rolex Submariner 5513

Vintage Rolex Submariner - 5513

J’aurai, j’espère, et je le souhaite, l’occasion de vous faire une grande leçon d’histoire sur la Submariner, en plusieurs parties. Mais là n’est pas mon but aujourd’hui. Je veux parler, manger, marcher, me doucher 5513. 

La 5513 apparaît en 1962 et vient se faire l’évolution de la 5512 et de la 6538. Deux lignes à six heures, et plus la mention “Superlative Chronometer, Officialy Certified” (Oui, la 5513 n’est pas certifiée, larmes). Évidemment les épaulements présents depuis la 5512 restent durs comme fer. Mais ce n’est que le tout petit mini bout de la face cachée de l’iceberg.

Avec les Rolex, et donc aussi avec cette 5513, Dieu est dans les détails plus que jamais. Meters first ou Feet First ? Cadran Glossy ou Matte ? Écritures Sérif ou Non-Serif ? Je vais essayer d’être simple et concis. Je souris en écrivant cette phrase.

Glossy ou Matte Dial ?

La production a commencé en 1962 par des cadrans laqués, dits Glossy. Les “Matte Dials” ne verront leurs apparition qu’à partir de 1966. Glossy, c’est quoi nom de Zeus ? Glossy, c’est d’abord un revêtement laqué, comme si votre copine avait pris son dernier vernis bien noir avant d’en appliquer une belle couche sur le cadran. Et BIM, plus de copine. Pour compléter le cadran laqué, les écritures peuvent être dorées, le cadran devient alors Gilt.

Au cours de l’année 1966, des cadrans mat donc. Subtilité de la chronologie, en 1984, les Glossy Dials feront leur retour, mais modernité oblige, les index seront cerclés. Mais la 5513 reste coquine…

Meters first ou Feet First ?

Les premiers modèles de 5513, sortis en 1962, sont “Meters first”. Une dénomination pour un type de cadran où la ligne de profondeur possède “200m = 660ft” et pas l’inverse.

Les Glossy Dials auront donc cette particularité de meters first. Toujours jusqu’en 1969, les meters first seront les rois, avant qu’ils ne se partagent les cadrans avec les feet first. Au cours de l’année 1970, des changements ont lieu, et le feet first prend une place définitive. Bye Bye meters first. Très américain tout ça…

Sérif ou non-Sérif ?

Sérif, comme son nom l’indique, renvoie à la police d’écriture des lignes sur le cadran. “Avec Sérif” signifie que l’on retrouve des “empattements” aux extrémités des lettres. Les premières écritures non-sérif se trouvent aux alentours de l’année 1969. Pour faire simple, tout a commencé avec du non-sérif. Puis, autour des années 1970/1971, le sérif cohabite avec le non sérif et ce pendant quelque temps, jusqu’aux années 1975/1976, où les cadrans sérif font seuls la loi.

Peu importe la disposition du cadran, cette 5513 est la quintessence même de la montre de l’agent britannique des années 60 et 70. Qui aurait pu imaginer une telle plongeuse au poignet d’un agent en Diner suit ? Pas grand monde avant Sean Connery en 1964 dans Goldfinger. La seule pièce qui pouvait prendre une belle légitimité au poignet d’un agent secret qui tue, étrangle, distribue des coups de poing, conduit une Aston Martin, et passe des nuits d’amour formidables avec les femmes les plus élégantes, en se réveillant comme une fleur. Quoi de plus normal. 

To be continued…