Home News Chronograph Watches

Excelsior Park Excel-O-Graph: A small, but very real, computer

Anna Wu-Chauvineau
Le 3 May 2017
Y

You probably have noticed during the recent unveiling of the new arrivals at Joseph Bonnie that some pieces were quite uncommon. This is why we wanted to share this special moment in history with you, spiced up with explanations on the unique chronograph Excelsior Excel-O-Graph we have in our possession.

You must know Clément quite well by now, the fine individual who has already shed light on the difficulties of collecting well and other fascinating topics of the sort. He takes real pleasure here to talk about a rare bird he’s very much attached to.

Excelsior Park Excel-O-Graph - Brown leather strap

The Excel-O-Graph: A small, but very real, computer

Excelsior Park was an important company in the field of chronographs. Founded in 1866, this brand, previously located in St-Imier, has a vague origins because two separate companies with similar names claim the same specialty (the chronograph) and the same founding date: Jules-Fréd and Jeanneret.

Excelsior Park Excel-O-Graph - Brown leather strap

In any case, the Excelsior movements were of such high quality that they were used by other fine watch brands like Gallet, Zénith or Girard Perregaux. Excelsior crafted chronographs and counters until the 1970’s.

Specially made for aviation (its allure may remind us of the famous Chronomat from Breitling), but also marine navigation (Yachting counter), science & engineering (rotating bezel), the Excel-O-Graph is a rare model today and innovative of the period.

This watch is reputed for being one of the most accurate professional chronographs of the 20th century. As proof, this last one was marketed with the slogan that it was indeed like a real computer.

One emblematic movement, numerous versions

The Excel-O-Graph was indeed marketed under a number of different versions such as Sinn, and the most known Gallet, proof that a partnership existed with Excelsior Park.

We’re looking at a very sought after chronograph, and whose most desirable (and rarest) version is certainly the one produced directly by Excelsior, creator of the movement, the famous ExPark 40-68.

The 40-68 movement is actually a movement for the emblematic chronograph in the same manner as the Lemania 321 (ex Pre-moon Speedmaster) or the Valjoux 72 (ex Rolex Daytona 6263).

An attractive and “Pop”-style watch

Given its perfect mint condition, forumers can qualify this watch as a rare bird or even as the Holy Grail of collectors.

Excelsior Park Excel-O-Graph - Brown leather strap

With the look of a Navitimer and an undeniable sex appeal – midnight blue dial, Yachting counter, tritium markers – this watch is a condensed version of what we like the most in vintage pieces. This is truly our favourite piece, especially as it’s the first time we see a model of this caliber.

Indeed, it isn’t you who finds the watch, but the watch that finds its way to you.

Cheers,

Clément


For more information, pictures, and stars in your eyes regarding this piece, Joseph Bonnie is here.

Home Actualité Horlogerie

Excelsior Park Excel-O-Graph : “Un vrai petit ordinateur”

Nicolas
Le 21 avril 2017
V

Vous avez pu voir lors du dernier “dévoilement” des nouveautés qui viennent enrichir fièrement notre shop Joseph Bonnie, que certaines pièces étaient peu communes. C’est pourquoi nous voulions partager avec vous un moment d’histoire, agrémenté d’explications sur le chronographe Excelsior Excel-O-Graph que nous vous proposons.

Vous connaissez maintenant bien Clément, qui nous avait déjà apporté la lumière sur la difficulté de bien collectionner, entre autres. Il se fait un plaisir ici de vous parler de ce “rare Bird”, auquel il est particulièrement attaché.

Joseph Bonnie - Excelsior Park Excel-O-Graph Calibre 40-68

L’Excel-O-Graph : « Un vrai petit ordinateur »

Excelsior Park fût une entreprise majeure dans le domaine des chronographes. Créée en 1866, cette maison installée à l’origine à St-Imier a des origines confuses car deux entreprises aux noms proches revendiquent la même spécialité (le chronographe) et date de création : Jules-Fréd et Jeanneret.

Excelsior Park Excel-O-Graph

Quoi qu’il en soit, les mouvements Excelsior étaient d’une qualité telle, qu’ils furent utilisés par d’autres marques comme Gallet, Zénith ou Girard Perregaux. Excelsior a fabriqué des chronographes et compteurs jusqu’aux années 1970’s.

Conçu pour l’aviation (son allure n’est pas sans rappeler le fameux Chronomat de Breitling) mais aussi la navigation (compteur Yachting), l’ingénierie et la science (lunette rotative), l’Excel-O-Graph est un modèle rare aujourd’hui et innovant pour l’époque.

Cette montre est réputée pour être un des chronographes professionnels les plus précis du 20e siècle. Pour preuve, ce dernier fût commercialisé avec comme argument marketing le fait qu’il soit un « véritable petit ordinateur ».

Un mouvement emblématique et une commercialisation sous plusieurs versions

L’excel-o-graph fût en effet commercialisé sous plusieurs versions dont Sinn, et la plus « connue » Gallet, preuve du partenariat existant avec Excelsior Park.

Il s’agit d’un chronographe très recherché dont la version la plus désirable (et la plus rare) est sûrement celle produite directement par Excelsior, créateur du mouvement, le fameux ExPark 40-68.

Le mouvement 40-68 est en effet un mouvement pour chronographe emblématique au même titre que le Lemania 321 (ex : Pre-moon Speedmaster) ou le Valjoux 72 (ex :Rolex Daytona 6263).

Une montre « Pop » et attractive

Compte tenu de son parfait état (« Mint »), les forumeurs peuvent qualifier cette montre comme étant un « rare bird » ou encore un « Grail » pour collectionneurs.

Joseph Bonnie - Excelsior Park Excel-O-Graph Calibre 40-68

Un look de Navitimer avec un sex-appeal indéniable : cadran bleu nuit, compteur Yachting, plots tritium, cette montre est un condensé de ce que j’aime le plus dans les vintage et il s’agit véritablement de mon coup de coeur, d’autant que c’est la première fois que ce modèle croise mon chemin.

En effet, ce n’est pas vous qui trouvez la montre mais la montre qui vous trouve.

Amitiés,

Clément


Pour plus d’informations, de photos, et d’étoiles dans le regard à propos de cette pièce, Joseph Bonnie est là.