Home The Knowledge The Theory

Giving voice to emotions: A. Lange & Söhne x Alexis Péan (Ep.4)

Anna Wu-Chauvineau
Le 16 March 2017
T

The moment to celebrate our collaboration with the prestigious German watch manufacturer A. Lange & Söhne has come. We present to you the last short film of the series that has brought together the vision of the Glashütte watchmakers and that of a contemporary artist around a shared theme. After Gravity with Quentin Carnaille, Universe with Felix Kiessling & Light with Damien Bénéteau, discover Sound and music with Alexis Péan.

Lute-making & watchmaking: Crafts of art and emotion

The resemblance is clear. Objects, artworks crafted entirely by the hand of Man. It doesn’t do the pieces justice by simply watching, touching, or admiring them. These are pieces that call upon another one of our senses, often overlooked in the context of watchmaking: hearing. Sounds, like voices of these instruments creating emotion that touches us, and moves us.

Alexis Péan: Luthier

Alexis Péan is a luthier. He makes stringed instruments, mainly those of the string quartet: violins, violas, cellos but also double basses.

Similar to the finest watchmakers who master the production process of a timepiece in its entirety, Alexis Péan learned with prestigious masters at the Vatelot-Rampal workshop before fine-tuning his knowledge in restoring and studying numerous instruments of the Great Masters of the Italian and French schools between the 17th and the 20th centuries.

Today Alexis custom crafts these instruments, by hand, the traditional way. Naturally, this takes time. Depending on how much work is necessary, it takes between a month and a year to make one instrument. An art that elegantly reminds us how much true luxury rhymes with time, patience and subtleness. Natural materials crafted with passion. Without a doubt passion inherited from an piano tuner and repairer father.

The sound of each instrument is very precisely and very carefully crafted to the needs of the musician and to his or her musical “character.” The final crucial step, without which sound and emotion would not exist, is the placing of the âme (French for “soul”). This fine piece of spruce gingerly positioned inside the instrument’s body is held in place vertically, without glue, by the friction between the top and back plates. The âme is what allows the sound of the instrument to travel, hence its position is critical to the point that moving it half a millimeter will completely alter the sound.

This final stage demands, therefore, particular know-how that no machine will ever be able to replace. The authentic worth of Man’s hand in all its splendor. A wise blend of hearing, touch and sensitivity.

A. Lange & Söhne Zeitwerk Striking Time

The parallel with watchmaking is made here with the Zeitwerk Striking Time, iconic watch from watchmaker A. Lange & Söhne which brings in an additional dimension to the timepiece: the magic of sound. The famous piece with the hour and minutes window displays from the manufacturer Glashütte now gives voice.

A. Lange & Söhne - Zeitwerk Striking Time

This is not a minute repeater that chimes at the demanded exact hour by repetitions and combinations of low-pitched and high-pitched chimes, but as its name indicates for English-speakers: “It strikes time.” Hours are indicated by a tiny hammer striking the bass bell and the quarter hours by the higher pitched one.

Like in the making of a musical instrument, the craft is guided by the hand and the judgment of Man. Although the chosen materials and the arrangement of the bells and hammers are thought upstream for better resonance and sound travel, the final crucial step comes within the competency of a watchmaker’s ear and sensitivity for assembly.

Alexis Péan - Luthier

Similar to a luthier placing the âme at the heart of the instrument’s body, the watchmaker will cut the bell to the desired length and adjust its sound to achieve the desired acoustic balance. You see ? Here we are. Individual crafts that identify with each other by form, content, and even on screen…

Home Actualité Haute Horlogerie

Giving voice to emotions : A. Lange & Söhne x Alexis Péan (Ep.4)

Jérôme
Le 16 mars 2017
V

Voici venu le moment de célébrer cette collaboration avec la prestigieuse Maison Allemande A. Lange & Söhne en vous présentant le dernier film de cette série mettant en parallèle la vision de la Manufacture de Glashütte et celle d’un artiste contemporain autour d’un même thème. Après la gravité avec Quentin Cornaille, l’univers avec Felix Kiessling & La lumière avec Damien Bénéteau, découvrez le son et la musique avec Alexis Péan.

Lutherie & horlogerie : Des métiers d’art et d’émotion

Le parallèle est évident. Des objets, des oeuvres d’art façonnées de A à Z par la main de l’homme. Des oeuvres qui dans le cas présent ne se contentent pas de se laisser regarder, toucher ou admirer. Des oeuvres qui font appel à un autre de nos sens souvent oublié lorsqu’on parle d’horlogerie : l’ouïe. Ces sons, comme les voix de ces instruments qui à leur tour créent l’émotion qui nous parle, nous touche et nous émeut.

Alexis Péan : Luthier

Alexis Péan est luthier. Il fabrique des instruments à cordes frottées, principalement ceux du quatuor à corde : violons, altos & violoncelles mais aussi des contrebasses. Ces instruments dont les cordes jouées à l’aide d’un archet vibrent et nous transportent.

Tout comme les meilleurs maîtres horlogers qui maîtrisent la fabrication d’une pièce dans son intégralité, Alexis Péan à appris avec des maîtres prestigieux à l’atelier Vatelot-Rampal et a perfectionné sa connaissance en restaurant et en comprenant de nombreux instruments de grands maîtres des écoles italienne & française du XVIIe au XXe siècle.

Aujourd’hui Alexis réalise ces instruments sur mesure, à la main, de manière traditionnelle. Forcément, cela prend du temps, d’un mois à un an de travail en fonction de l’objet à réaliser. Un artisanat qui nous rappelle avec élégance ô combien luxe véritable rime avec temps, patience et sobriété. Des matériaux naturels travaillés avec passion. Une passion sans doute héritée d’un père accordeur et réparateur de pianos.

Le son de chaque instrument est travaillé, de façon extrêmement précise en fonction des besoin du musicien et de son « son ». L’étape finale et cruciale sans laquelle le son et l’émotion ne se peuvent naître, est le placement de l’âme. Cette pièce d’épicéa placée à l’intérieur de la caisse est maintenue verticalement, sans collage, par la pression exercée entre le fond et la table. L’âme permet la transmission du son et son placement est crucial dans la mesure où la déplacer d’un demi-millimètre modifie complètement le son.

Cette étape finale demande donc un savoir-faire tout particulier qu’aucune machine ne pourra jamais remplacer. La valeur de la main de l’homme dans toute sa splendeur. Un savant mélange d’écoute, de toucher et de sensibilité.

A. Lange & Söhne Zeitwerk Striking Time

Le parallèle horloger est ici tout trouvé avec la Zeitwerk Striking Time, montre iconique de la maison A. Lange & Söhnne qui apporte une dimension supplémentaire à un garde-temps : le son. La célèbre indication de l’heure et des minutes par guichets de la manufacture  de Glashütte donne désormais de la voix.

A. Lange & Söhne - Zeitwerk Striking Time-2

Il ne s’agit pas ici d’une répétition minute qui sonnerait à la demande l’heure exacte par des répétitions et combinaisons de sonneries graves et aigües mais comme son nom l’indique pour les anglophones : « it strikes time ». Les heures sont sonnées par le marteau frappant le timbre grave et les quarts par le ton le plus aigu.

Comme dans la réalisation d’un instrument de musique la réalisation est dictée par la main et le ressenti de l’homme. Si bien évidemment les matériaux choisis ainsi que la disposition des timbres et des marteaux sont pensés en amont pour une meilleure résonance et échappement du son, l’étape finale, cruciale, relève de la sensibilité et de l’oreille de l’horloger qui fera l’assemblage.

Alexis Péan - Luthier

Tel le luthier plaçant l’âme au coeur de la caisse, l’horloger coupera le timbre à la longueur désirée et ajustera ainsi sa sonorité afin d’obtenir l’équilibre acoustique recherché. Vous voyez, nous y sommes. Des métiers d’art éloignés qui se retrouvent sur le fond, la forme, et même à l’image…