Home News Extraordinary Watches

Lightening Darkness: A. Lange & Söhne x Damien Bénéteau (Ep.3)

Anna Wu-Chauvineau
Le 2 March 2017
W

We welcome you again with great pleasure for the presentation of the third episode of the artistic approach at the fine watch manufacturer A. Lange & Söhne entitled Lightening Darkness. After Gravity and Modeling the Universe, this third opus aligns the visions and creativity of the Glashütte watchmakers with those of the French artist Damien Bénéteau. The inspiring common theme? Light and Darkness.

The Artist: Damien Bénéteau

Damien Bénéteau holds a unique place in the world of Art. Originally from a photography background, his fascination for the process of capturing light isn’t surprising. In the course of time he has chosen sculptures as his way of artistic expression, allowing him to play with volume, shadow and light. Sculpting allowed him to mechanically recreate optical illusions that hypnotize viewers. Bénéteau is known for his monochrome artworks with strong black and white contrasts created from a shock between the matt black coating of the ellipses and the pristine white glow of the LED lights.

Damien Bénéteau artwork

Artworks of great simplicity that intrigue as much as they impress – we have never seen anything like this before. Artworks animated by the hypnotic rhythms of the moving hanging masses. Artworks that by the monotonous movement of the pendulums, lighten and deform volumes, ultimately creating a fascinating pulse.

Lange & Söhne: Grand Lange 1 Lumen Moonphase

The luminescent markers of a wristwatch has not been considered “revolutionary” anymore for a long time. Radium, Tritium, Luminova, Superluminova, the man and the watchmaker have found other ways besides the minute-repeater to read time in the dark. Very rare are the manufacturers, which innovate and rework this approach.

A. Lange & Söhne - Grand Lange 1 Lumen - Moonphase

With the Grand Lange 1 Lumen, A. Lange & Söhne has taken the opposite stance and developed a black sapphire glass dial that allows light to penetrate, and in turn charge the Superluminova base of the moonphase, as well as the markers, hands and above all the two large date windows. At nightfall, an altogether different way to read the day of the month is uncovered…

These two approaches to capture light by a clever play on matter and movements reveal an artistic technique and vision in sculpting and horology. In both cases, what is of interest to us here, is the balance and the alliance that inspire emotion much greater than that of matter. It is the imagination and hope born from this brilliance, presented inside each individual, that doesn’t fade when darkness falls…

Home Le Savoir La Théorie

Lightening Darkness : A. Lange & Söhne x Damien Bénéteau (Ep.3)

Jérôme
Le 2 mars 2017
N

Nous revenons aujourd’hui avec un plaisir non dissimulé pour vous présenter le troisième épisode de cette approche artistique dédiée à la manufacture allemande A. Lange & Söhne intitulé “Lightening Darkness” soit en français : “Eclairer l’Obscurité”. Après Gravity  et Modeling the Universe, ce troisième opus met en parallèle  la vision et la créativité de la Manufacture et celles de l’artiste français Damien Bénéteau autour d’un thème commun, celui de la lumière et de l’obscurité.

L’artiste : Damien Bénéteau

Damien Bénéteau occupe une place à part dans le monde de l’art. Venant du monde de la photo, sa fascination pour le processus de captation de la lumière n’est pas surprenante.  Il a aujourd’hui choisi comme expression artistique la sculpture pour jouer avec ces masses, ces volumes, ces ombres et ces lumières. C’est  ainsi qu’il recrée mécaniquement les effets d’optique  qui hypnotisent ceux et celles qui poseront leurs regards sur ses oeuvres. Des oeuvres monochromatiques aux forts contrastes noirs et blancs qui naissent du choc entre le revêtement noir mat des ellipses avec la lumière très blanche des LED.

Damien Beneteau

Des oeuvres d’une grande sobriété qui fascinent autant qu’elle surprennent, je n’avais personnellement jamais rien vu de tel. Des oeuvres qui vivent au rythme des répétitions hypnotiques des mouvements des masses suspendues. Des oeuvres qui telles des pendules déforment les volumes éclairés par leurs mouvements de va et vient entêtants et créent cette respiration fascinante.

A. Lange & Söhne : Grand Lange 1 Lumen Moonphase

Les index luminescents d’une montre-bracelet n’a depuis longtemps plus rien de révolutionnaire. Radium, Tritium, Luminova, Superluminova, l’homme et l’horloger a depuis plusieurs décennies déjà trouvé des moyens autre que la répétition-minute, de pouvoir lire l’heure dans l’obscurité. Cependant rares, très rares même sont les maisons qui innovent et repensent cette approche.

A.Lange & Söhne - Grand Lange 1 Lumen-Moonphase

Avec la Grand Lange 1 Lumen, A. Lange & Söhne a pris le contre-pied de l’existant et a développé un cadran en verre saphir teinté noir qui laisse néanmoins passer la lumière qui chargera la base photo-luminescente du disque de phase de lune, ainsi que les index, les aiguilles et surtout les deux guichets de la grande date qui une fois la nuit tombée révèlent d’une bien belle façon de connaître le jour du mois…

Ces deux approches, l’une sculpturale et l’autre horlogère, de captation de la lumière par d’ingénieux jeux de matières et de mouvements révèlent de la technique et d’une vision artistique. Dans les deux cas, ce qui nous intéresse ici, c’est bien cet équilibre, cette alliance qui donne naissance à une émotion bien plus grande que celle de la matière, celle de l’imagination, de cet espoir et de cet éclat présent en chacun de nous, qui ne s’éteint pas à la tombée de la nuit…