Home The Style The Watch Snack

The Watch Snack: Café Angelina

Anna Wu-Chauvineau
Le 12 March 2017
W

Watch Snack (noun):

 “Article made of high-end watchmaking visuals & the sharing of insider Parisian spots worth visiting. Intense pleasure for the eyes and the taste buds, the Watch Snack is a source of inspiration that may very well bring you to your next acquisition as well as to the place where you’ll announce it to your lady friend.”

Your friend from out of town comes to Paris on business and has time to meet for coffee. Where do you take her or him for that authentic “Parisian experience”? Well, one thing’s for certain, you can’t go to Starbucks even though you’ll have no trouble finding one. Nor should take him to one of the many impersonal bar-cafés scattered all over the city. No, no…that won’t do. Especially if your friend is an epicurean and appreciates the finer things in life. Why not cheat a little and add French pastries to the mix? Opt for a “salon de thé,” or tea room.

It just so happens that on rue de Rivoli near Tuileries Gardens stands a beautiful salon de thé with a historical soul: the one and only Café Angelina. Built in 1903, the original tearoom hasn’t changed much.  Its decor will take you back in time to the prosperous Belle Époque, or the “Golden Age”, when life in Paris was carefree and filled with lavish dinner parties, dancing, cabarets…

Ancienne Maison Rumpelmayer
Source: www.evous.fr

The tea room’s name wasn’t Angelina at that time but Ancienne Maison Rumpelmayer, after its founder Anton Rumpelmayer, an Austrian confectioner.  It was later changed to Angelina, in honor of his daughter-in-law.

It was definitely the place to be and enticed the city’s crème de la crème like writer Marcel Proust and Coco Chanel.  Apparently Coco had a weakness for Angelina’s famous hot chocolate. Very well, but we must mention the tea room’s other specialties, Mont-Blanc, Saint-Honoré, and the Choc Africain.

For those of you who don’t know what a Mont-Blanc is, I hope it’s because you’re Alsatian and call it “Torche aux marrons” (literally meaning chestnut torch). From French and Italian origins, it combines crisp meringue with airy whipped cream and mouthwatering chestnut vermicelli. A real epicurean pastry of which Angelina has perfect mastery.

If you haven’t yet tasted this marvelous treat, or any of the others mentioned, I suggest you enlighten your taste buds.

And why not do so in a charming historic Belle Époque décor at Café Angelina? Now there’s a delicious idea for the mouth and the eyes…

Seiko Marine Master 300

Home Actualité Horlogerie

The Watch Snack : Café Angelina

Nicolas
Le 12 mars 2017
W

Watch Snack :

“Le Watch Snack est un article composé de photos de montres d’une qualité incroyable et du partage de lieux Parisiens intimistes. L’oeil y prend un plaisir intense, tout comme l’esprit. Le Watch Snack est à la fois une source puissante d’inspiration qui pourrait, pourquoi pas, vous conduire à une nouvelle acquisition, ou au lieu où vous annoncerez ce nouvel achat à votre âme soeur”

Un de vos bons amis débarque à Paris pour affaires, et peut vous accorder quelques minutes autour d’un café. Où l’emmener afin de lui faire vivre une expérience plus que parisienne ? Une chose est sûre, vous n’irez certainement pas chez Starbucks. Même si les rues en sont peuplées. Ni dans un de ces cafés, parfois très charmants, mais souvent sans âme et bruyants. Ça ne serait pas correct. Surtout si votre ami est un fin connaisseur, et sait apprécier de fins plaisirs. Pour l’amadouer, rien de plus simple. Quelques patisseries française, dans l’ambiance d’un salon de thé.

Quelle coïncidence. Sur la longue et belle rue de Rivoli se trouve un salon de thé avec une âme unique : le Café Angelina. Ouvert en 1903, le salon de thé n’a pas perdu de son élégance, et n’a pas trop changé. Le décor vous enverra quelques années en arrière, façon Belle-Epoque, quand Paris vivait au son des cabarets, de somptueux diners mondains, sans se soucier de rien.

The Watch Snack : Café Angelina
(Source : www.evous.com)

À l’époque, le café ne portait pas le nom qu’on lui connaît aujourd’hui, mais celui de “Ancienne Maison Rumpelmayer”, du nom de son propriétaire Anton Rumpelmayer, confiseur arrivé d’Autriche quelques années auparavant. Il prendra plus tard le nom d’Angelina, en hommage à la belle-fille de celui-ci.

C’était un lieu qu’il fallait impérativement fréquenter. La “crème de la crème” de la ville se pressait à ses portes, tels Marcel Proust, ou encore Coco Chanel. Coco avait un petit faible pour leur chocolat chaud, paraît-il. Mais le salon de thé est plein de ressources, Mont-Blanc, Saint-Honoré, et Choc Africain en tête de liste.

Pour ceux qui n’ont pas été initiés au Mont-Blanc, j’espère que c’est parce que vous êtes Alsaciens et que vous l’appelez “Torche aux marrons”. D’origines française et italienne, c’est un doux mélange de meringue croustillante, de crème fouettée bien aérée, et de larges vermicelles de crème de marron qui vous mettent l’eau à la bouche comme nul autre chose. Une vraie pâtisserie dont les épicuriens pourront se délecter, et dont la Maison Angelina  maîtrise parfaitement la recette.

Si vous n’avez jamais pris une bouchée de cette chose merveilleuse que l’on appelle Mont-Blanc, c’est une faute, et vous devriez déjà courir y goûter.

Et pour se faire, pourquoi ne pas profiter d’un décor charmant qui respire la Belle Époque ? Ça serait se priver d’une belle expérience, pour les papilles et pour les yeux.