Home The Style The Watch Snack

The place to be: La Fabrique Générale, a “child’s” wonderland

Anna Wu-Chauvineau
Le 9 April 2017
T

To find corners of the city that truly resemble us… This is why we scour the streets of Paris for exceptional places. This is what we felt when we first walked into La Fabrique Générale. We have, therefore, something moving to share with you all that can be described as emotions, inseparable from the passion of founder Christophe and his wife Cerise. Voilà un couple who has put in their heart and soul into the making of this unique place rich with tranquility and authenticity. 

The place to be - La Fabrique Générale

The origines of La Fabrique Générale

Christophe has made many remarkable achievements in his life. A successful marriage full of respect of love, and children who he’s more than proud of. Professionally speaking, after creating a number of companies, he became specialist in shipyard projects. But behind the entrepreneur, who has the tendency to strike while the iron is hot, is a lover of beautiful mechanical engins including motorcycles and vintage watches. Naturally we weren’t indifferent.

It was at first for pleasure that he wanted to create La Fabrique Générale. It would be an serene and comfortable place of work, but also somewhere to share his many passions.

The concept of Fabrique Générale

The place is in the image of a curiosity cabinet where your eyes easily get lost while looking at all the intriguing objects animating it. When stepping in to La Fabrique, you first come upon a display of Cerise’s know-how: hats of all shapes and sizes handmade by Cerise in the French traditional method that we can almost consider as bespoke items.

The place to be - La Fabrique Générale

As you take further steps you’ll discover that this vast unique space has been “decorated” with motorcycles everywhere. Custom-made ones obviously. Christophe is passionate about motorcycles and showcases a garage that makes a very few models in the form of a collection. And not just whatever he has on hand.

In continuing your visit downstairs, especially reserved for a custom-built lift complete with big bikes, you will get it. Christophe gives some mechanics lessons there, including the assembling and the taking apart of motors, carburettors, oil pans, etc. The works.

The basement is hence reserved to favorite objects that are for sale, limited prints and many unique pieces for the most part. Old reservoirs, casks, rare and collectible books, old Irish postal bags, and other collectible and decorative items.

Now when you ask Christophe if he likes watches, you quickly get it again. At his wrist, a Rolex GMT-Master 1675 Gilt in mint condition. His fine collection, primarily dominated by pieces of the crown brand, also has a beautiful Submariner 5512, Gilt as well. Why change a winning team?

And if you like this place, you can actually rent it (only for professional companies) to organise all types of events. It is therefore a fine piece of advice I can give you on this Sunday with the weather is nice if you’re ever in the neighbourhood of the 17th district, at 2bis rue Léon Cosnard. You will come out feeling inspired, full of ideas in your head. Don’t be surprised if the visit makes your childhood dreams resurface again…

The place to be - La Fabrique Générale


For more information: La Fabrique Générale

Home Le Style The Watch Snack

The place to be : La Fabrique Générale, un rêve d’enfant

Nicolas
Le 9 avril 2017
V

Voilà pourquoi nous nous donnons tant de mal à sillonner les rues Parisiennes à la recherche de lieux exceptionnels. Pour trouver des endroits qui nous ressemblent, et qu’il est impossible de ne pas fouler de nos pas quand on peut y passer. Et c’est ce que nous avons ressenti quand nous sommes rentrés à la Fabrique Générale. Nous avons donc une belle émotion à vous transmettre. Indissociable de la passion du fondateur Christophe et de sa femme Cerise, qui ont mis coeurs et âmes à l’ouvrage de ce lieu empreint de sérénité et d’authenticité.

The place to be - La Fabrique Générale

Les origines de la Fabrique Générale

Christophe a accompli de belles choses dans sa vie. Un mariage qu’il admire toujours autant plus les jours passent, et des enfants dont il est plus que fier. Côté professionnel, il a monté quelques structures mais s’est spécialisé plus tard dans les chantiers navals. Mais derrière cet entrepreneur qui aime battre le fer tant qu’il est chaud se cache un amoureux de belles mécaniques, autant des motos que de montres vintage. Nous n’étions donc pas forcément indifférents.

C’est donc d’abord par souci de plaisir qu’il a voulu fonder la Fabrique Générale. À la fois pour en faire son lieu de travail intimiste et confortable, mais aussi pour partager ses passions.

Le concept Fabrique Générale

Ce lieu est à l’image du cabinet de curiosité où le regard se perd dans les objets qui lui donnent vie. Entrer dans la Fabrique, c’est d’abord découvrir un savoir faire Français réalisé par Cerise, la femme de Christophe. Elle conçoit et façonne de manière traditionnelle en France des chapeaux de plusieurs formes différentes, presque sur-mesure.

The place to be - La Fabrique Générale

Puis vous avancez plus et vous découvrez des motos parsemées dans ce vaste espace. Des customs, évidemment. Christophe est passionné de motos et s’est fait la vitrine d’un garage qui produit très peu de pièces sous forme de collection. Et pas n’importe quoi. 

Si vous continuez la visite en sous sol, qui est réservé au monte charge construit sur mesure et aux grosses cylindrées qui s’y trouvent, vous comprendrez. Christophe y donne quelques cours de mécanique illustrés, avec montage et démontage de moteurs, carburateurs, carters, etc. La totale.

Le Rez-de-chaussée de la Fabrique Générale est donc réservé à des objets coups de coeur qui sont vendus, des tirages limités et des pièces uniques pour la plupart. Des vieux réservoirs, des casques, des livres de collection, de vieux sacs postaux irlandais, et d’autres objets de collection et de décoration.

Et quand vous demandez à Christophe s’il aime les montres, et qu’il vous en touche deux mots, vous comprenez à nouveau. Au poignet, une Rolex Gmt-Master 1675 Gilt dans un état de folie. Et dans sa collection, principalement des pièces à la couronne, dont une Submariner 5512 Gilt elle aussi, pourquoi changer une équipe qui gagne ?

Et si vous aimez le lieu, vous pouvez le louer (uniquement des entreprises) pour organiser des évènements en tous genres. C’est donc un beau conseil que je peux vous donner en ce dimanche où il fait beau, si vous passez par le 17ème, au 2bis rue Léon Cosnard. Vous en ressortirez plein d’idées dans la tête, et vos rêves d’enfants referont probablement surface.

The place to be - La Fabrique Générale


Pour plus d’informations : La Fabrique Générale